Toshio Maruyama to receive SEMI Marketing Excellence Award at SEMICON Japan

SEMI this week announced that Toshio Maruyama has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the SEMI Sales and Marketing Excellence Award, inspired by Bob Graham. He will be honored for outstanding achievement in semiconductor equipment and materials marketing during ceremonies at SEMICON Japan on December 14 in Tokyo.

Toshio Maruyama

Toshio Maruyama, senior executive advisor at Advantest, was selected to receive the 20th SEMI Sales and Marketing Excellence Award for his contributions and leadership in pioneering the marketing of reliability in semiconductor Automated Test Equipment (ATE), as a key product advantage. Maruyama faced entrenched highly regarded competition. However, he relentlessly pursued and marketed a more reliable (higher yield) ATE system.  This drove SEMI members to improve reliability, which has been crucial to the growth of the industry. By making ATE reliability a differentiator, he set a precedent. His contribution has benefited the semiconductor industry as a whole.

SEMI also recognizes Maruyama for the value of his long service in industry organizations such as IEEE, SEAJ and SEMI, in addition to his long-held goal to promote harmony in the semiconductor industry so customers and suppliers could focus on advancing technology without global trade and political disruption. Maruyama served on the SEMI Board of Directors from 2008 to 2016.

“Maruyama is recognized both for his innovative marketing leadership and his steadfast commitment to guiding industry associations. Today, SEMI and its membership recognize Maruyama-san for his contributions to the success of our industry,” said Denny McGuirk, president and CEO of SEMI.

The SEMI Sales and Marketing Excellence Award was inspired by the late Bob Graham, the distinguished semiconductor industry leader who was part of the founding team of Intel and who helped establish industry-leading companies such as Applied Materials and Novellus Systems. The Award was established to honor individuals for the creation and/or implementation of marketing programs that enhance customer satisfaction and further the growth of the semiconductor equipment and materials industry.

Eligible candidates are nominated by their industry peers and are selected after due diligence by an award committee. Previous recipients of this SEMI award include: Jim Bowen (2016), Terry (Tetsuro) Higashi (2015), Winfried Kaiser (2014), Joung Cho (JC) Kim (2013), G. Dan Hutcheson (2012), Franz Janker (2011), Martin van den Brink (2010), Peter Hanley (2009), Richard Hong (2008), Richard E. Dyck (2007), Aubrey (Bill) C. Tobey (2006), Archie Hwang (2005), Edward Braun (2004), Shigeru (Steve) Nakayama (2003), Jerry Hutcheson and Ed Segal (2002), Jim Healy and Barry Rapozo (2001), and Art Zafiropoulo (2000).


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Edwards launches new Smart Thermal Management System at SEMICON Europa 2016
10/25/2016Smart TMS helps semiconductor, flat panel display and solar manufacturers improve their process performance and safety by red...
Tektronix introduces Keithley S540 power semiconductor test system
10/19/2016Tektronix, Inc., a worldwide provider of measurement solutions, today introduced the Keithley S540 Power Semiconductor Test System, a ...
Novel Wafer Analyzer for up to 300mm wafer using high speed Raman Imaging Technology
08/08/2016Nanophoton introduces RAMANdrive - a new Wafer Analyzer - for a wide range of applications at semiconductor market a...